Home > abandonment, Outer Child > Understanding the Outer Child

Understanding the Outer Child

Meet your Outer Child, the self-sabotaging nemesis of your personality – the part that breaks your diet and gets attracted to all the wrong people.

Whereas your Inner child is all about feelings, your Outer Child is all about behavior.

Outer Child acts out your inner child’s feelings – especially your abandonment feelings – without giving you, the adult, a chance to intervene.

When you feel hurt, angry, or insecure, Outer acts out these feelings in ways that sabotage your relationships.

View Susan’s video Understanding the Outer Child.

The Outer Child

Categories: abandonment, Outer Child
  1. November 30, 2011 at 4:19 am

    Susan, I noticed and picked up your book at the library four days ago, and after reading only a few pages, I ordered the book on amazon. I knew I needed to underline and that this book was a goldmine of information that I would want to return to. This evening, I read the first two chapters and already I feel liberated. I look at my actions in a new light – through wiser parent eyes – and I notice myself thinking about my actions and making choices instead of performing mindless activities. And this, after reading only two chapters. Okay! I’m ready now to go back to the book for Chapter Three and to really go to work. Your adding the fourth aspect to the psychic trio is such a breakthrough – I am so excited about your work and the benefits it can bring. Thank you!

  2. November 30, 2011 at 4:22 am

    PS – The book I’m referring to is Taming Your Outer Child.

  3. David Floyd
    February 6, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    Dear Susan
    I just today started reading your outer child book, and am thrilled by what you write – it makes such incredible sense at an instinctive level, and explains so many things about my journey and those of others whose outer child has caused great pain to themselves and others. I would love to become member of the outerchild.net group, but being in the UK seem unable to join.
    But thank you for your insights and intelligence to bring this way of thinking and living into the world. It could not have come at a better time for me.
    D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

